Day 5: Sitges

Sunday was an exciting day. First I slept in until 7:30! Woo! Maggie, Noémie, and Kerri left in a taxi at about 6am so I was on my own for a little breakfast before transferring from my Airbnb to my hostel for the night. Packing and taking the metro to my hostel took longer than I thought. 

I stayed at Hostel Fabrizzio. It was awesome. It’s a bit of a walk from Passeig de Garcia but not bad. There are 2 locked doors before getting in. They were great when I checked in. They gave me a brief tour. There’s free breakfast with yogurt and milk and juice all day! I stayed in a 4 person room which had fans! There was a small locker to keep your valuables overnight. They also had a really gorgeous rooftop terrace, a kitchen, 2 computers and printers and more. 

I had plans to meet a friend from the conference at a cafe at 10 and then catch the train to Sitges. My other advisor Brianna had recommended Sitges as a wonderful beach town for a day trip. 

Unfortunately with travel I could not manage to contact my friend, was 45 min late to meeting, couldn’t find her, then had issues finding the train, and then my card didn’t work. And the guy wanted my ID with my credit card. So I went back to the hostel checked in via wifi to find my friend is sick. I grabbed 2 different cards (and ID!) and headed back. 

Getting on the train was a little confusing but not bad. To get to Sitges you take the R2 from platform 1 in the direction of de villanova. I double checked with someone before boarding. But I felt extra comforted when more beach-ready people got on. It did seem like a lot of people got off a Vilanovs/St. Vicent but luckily the platforms were well marked and thanks to offline google maps I could tell where I was supposed to go. 

Garraf also looked super gorgeous to get off at. I was tempted to go since it to we closer to the park too. But in the much e I went to Sitges. Overall the train trip took about 45 min or so.


I walked through the town towards the sea. The town is super cute. It definitely has a much more beach-y vibe than Barcelona. Later in the day I got some delicious gelato at one of the stores. Dulce de leche toffee flavor was just awesome. 


The beaches on a Sunday on July were still very very crowded. It was a little much for me. And since I had my bag I knew that I wouldn’t actually be able to do much since I couldn’t leave it on the beach. So instead I just started walking further from the town center. I had read that beaches get better further away and certainly less crowded. On Sunday’s in July the less crowded doesn’t really seem to make too much of a difference for the first 1.5 miles. They only really got less crowded when the beach changed to being pebble and not being protected from the waves. But I did get the chance to get in the water close by. 


Then I say people hiking even further out of town with beach things. I knew then that there must be other options. So I found a couple secluded coves. Most excitingly I saw the first gay beach in the world. It was awesome!


I went down and met a girl named Anna. She’s from Moscow and actually teaches English so we were able to communicate very well. We hung out on the beach a while. Here I felt comfortable leaving my bag while swimming. The water and scenery were absolutely lovely and it just felt very comfortable. 

It turned out Anna was going to Barcelona later in the day so we walked part of the way back to Sitgs together. 

It was a good day. Riding back on the train, I went almost falling asleep. Which would be bad to miss the train station. I went back to the hostel to shower off the ocean and sweat from me.


I met back up with Anna after that at La Placa d’Espanya. Very cool Placa. There were so many people! We saw the art museum, a beautiful fountain, and Olympic park in the dark (it was the only one open). It was nice to just walk around and chat. Finally we headed home and I crashed to sleep. Another day conquered. 

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 5: Sitges

  1. kitten McGraw says:

    So exciting! I love reading of your experiences here.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

