ISAZ Conference Day 1


Today was the first full conference day at the International Society for Anthrozoology. This year was a small conference. Only about 150 attendees and only 2 simultaneous rooms for 2 days and 60 posters. It’s quite a bit different from the huge Animal Behavior Society and American Society for Animal Science conferences I went to last summer. It’s definitely more intimate though. 
The conference venue itself was gorgeous. It was held at Parc de Recerca Biomedica de Barcelona. This was the view from the conference venue. 

Pretty awesome. Also the poster session and all snacks were outside which was very cool (although hot for presenting!)

I had quite a few people interested in my poster. I like getting to talk to people about my research. I think it went quite well. 


Some of my favorite talks from the day were: 

– the keynote about pro sociality, bonds, and cooporation in chimps by Dr. Roman Wittig

– Outcomes for spouses of veterans with service dogs for PTSD by Kerri Rodriguez

– Development of a Cat Ownership Relationship Scale

– A systematic review of Animal Assisted Interventions for children with Autism – Dr. Maggie O’Haire
Clearly I love my lab and think we do great work. 🙂


Here is the schedule of talks for the morning in case anyone is interested. 

After a full day of conference I am back at the Airbnb to hopefully nap. Though it’s super hot and sticky and noisy. There’s no AC and not even any fans in the room. Today the air is pretty dead. 

The beach is hopping though. 🙂


I’ll update you all after tonight. First up- delicious dinner. Then going out for drinks and dancing. 

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

