Day 1: Snorkeling

Day 1 in Barcelona has been conquered!

My flight arrived about 15 minutes early. I got my baggage and exchanged some cash for no fees at the airport! And was convinced by the teller to go for the Aerobus rather than a taxi. Then the really nice woman ticket taker at the Aerobus gave me specific metro directions and told me to take the Metro rather than a taxi. 

So I can was courageous and cheap and took the Aerobus and metro combination. I ended up only spending maybe $7 for the trip rather than $34 for a taxi. And I got familiar with the city. And it was super easy. 

Kerri was awesome and met me outside the Airbnb. I threw my stuff down, showered, changed, and we headed out for our snorkeling adventure.

Snorkeling and kayaking today out of Costa Brava with Excursions Barcelona. Calm beautiful seas. The snorkeling wasn’t anything like the South Pacific in Fiji. But then again, nothing really is as amazing as Fiji. I did see a few starfish, 1 scared octopus, and a few species of fish. I was disappointed to not see nudibranchs, but apparently it’s just a seasonal thing. The scenery was pretty gorgeous though. We went into lots of little coves. Did see topless sun-tanning which is a thing here. And we generally worked out our arm muscles. 

Kerri was a great kayaking companion. She was the power and I was the rhythm. I got pretty tired by the end. Considering I didn’t sleep much on my overnight trip I was ok with that. It has been a long day. I fell asleep on the bus ride home. Then we stopped by the grocery store for food in the morning before heading back to our Airbnb to unpack. We caught up with or respective partners. Maggie (our awesome advisor) and Noémie (our co-conspirator) joined us and we caught up. Now I’m finally heading to bed. 


I’ll leave you with a pretty simple pic I snapped before the tour. I promise more pics will come later. 

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 1: Snorkeling

  1. Jean says:

    Glad to hear you made it safely and already went snorkeling!

  2. Jenny K. says:

    Glad you arrived safely & looking forward to future updates!

  3. Robert LaFollette says:

    Looks like a good time!

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

