A weekend in Chicago: Land of the smelly onion plant

Despite living in St. Louis for most of my life I had never made it up to to Windy City. Now that I’m in Lafayette for grad school and it’s only 2 hours there’s no excuse. And my aunt Sharon offered to take me!

IMG_2701.JPG

This is a baby shark in a shark egg! So cool! You could actually see the baby shark moving and breathing!!!

First we went to Shedd Aquarium. Are you surprised? I’ve got to get my animal fix in. We saw all of animals there and saw the aquatic show. The reef exhibits reminded me of Fiji and the dolphins reminded me of New Zealand.

IMG_2714.JPG

All the cichlid fish reminded me of biology classes.

IMG_3522

My favorite animals were probably the beluga, they are impressive!

Once done we went to Gino’s for real Chicago deep dish. So much cheese! Then up to the John Hancock Observatory (now 360 Chicago) for beautiful night views while sipping a cocktail.

IMG_2719.JPG

Sunday we woke up and went on an Architectural River Cruise. It was beautiful! Perfect weather. Lots of learning and information. Perfect way to end the weekend! I really enjoyed getting to spend time with my Aunt Sharon as well. It was great!

Now for just a few pics from the tour:

1 IMG_3571 IMG_3580 IMG_3618 IMG_3624 IMG_3628 IMG_3645 IMG_3650 IMG_3555 IMG_3591

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in General Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A weekend in Chicago: Land of the smelly onion plant

  1. Aunt Sharon says:

    It was such a great trip! Thanks for sharing the pics Meg!

  2. Jenny K. says:

    Great pics, especially the ones of the from the architectural tour. I especially like the one with the sun coming through the buildings. Glad you had a good time!

  3. Jean LaFollette says:

    Great pics! Glad you had fun. Love, Mom

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

