Morning Solitude on Lago Solidad

A Hoatzin the branch and tiger heron in the grass.

A Hoatzin the branch and tiger heron in the grass.

One of my favorite things to do at ARCC was to go out early morning on the lake during the pre-dawn. When the world is lighting up, there is mist on the lake, and the sun hasn’t gotten over the trees yet. The water is peaceful and quiet. I especially loved being in the affectionately name “Zippy but Tippy” canoe and just gliding through the water. To add to that, early morning can be a great time to see wildlife, especially the otters.

Red-capped cardinal

Red-capped cardinal

One morning I went out by myself. My knee had been hurting when going up the hills on the trails so I decided to not go on a transect and just rest instead. I saw so many birds that morning and got to get pretty close to the otters and see them feeding on fish and actually getting partially out of the water! I also got quite close to one of the the notoriously skittish capped herons and even collected one of its feathers it dropped in the water. By the end of the morning I was tired, but it was worth it.

Capped Heron

Capped Heron

 

Juvenile tiger heron

Juvenile tiger heron

Towards the end of my time I suggested to Ian that we go out early one morning. It was fantastic we got to see both a juvenile and adult tiger heron very close. The adult tiger heron was even fishing! We also got decently close to the Hoatzins and saw the otters! Even cooler we actually saw a white fronted capuchin come down to the waters edge and poke around in the water for a minute. It’s rare to see them come to ground and especially near the waters edge when there could be camin around!

 

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in General Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning Solitude on Lago Solidad

  1. Jenny K. says:

    Pretty cool video!

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

