Puerto Maldonado to Cusco: The Journey

Really pretty mountain river/stream and cloud forest.

Really pretty mountain river/stream and cloud forest.

A huge part of the travel is just about the journey. Today I took a 10 hour bus ride from Puerto Maldonado to Cusco. Though that seems like a really long time for a bus ride it really was not bad at all. In fact it was really fun to see the scenery change from flat flood plain to cloudforest to mountain top. Also it went from being not quite hot enough to make me sweat, but still uncomfortable to snowing and quite chilly. I think I was only the white person and English speaker on the bus but that’s okay.

SNOW!!! After a month in the jungle, this is a strange sight.

SNOW!!! After a month in the jungle, this is a strange sight.

I chose to travel with Palomino based on Dave’s recommendation combined the fact with the fact a top level front window seat was available. Movil tours is also recommended. It was pretty easy to arrange with my friends’ help. Dave drove me to the ticket office the day before to book my seat. Then in the morning Ian took me to the station and kept me company until departure time. We said some sad goodbyes, and then I was off on the bus.

Soup> this is actually really similar to what I ate in the jungle

Soup> this is actually really similar to what I ate in the jungle

This meal is also very similar to jungle food.

This meal is also very similar to jungle food.

I bought some snacks to take with me on the journey and we also stopped around 3pm for dinner that only cost 5 soles for soup, rice, chicken, lentils and tea. At dinner I managed to kind of have a conversation with the Peruvian guy that sat next to me. It was kind of cool that we could even sort of communicate past the language barrier, but once again it made me wish that I knew Spanish. This same guy was actually super nice and helped me a get a cheap taxi (5 soles) from the bus station to my hostel as well as taking me to an internet cafe because I had forgot to write down the address of my hostel.

Lesson of the day: Don’t forget to write down the address of your hostel so you can show it to taxi drivers. But if you do forget, make a friend and find an internet cafe to figure it out, or if all else fails and you’re in Cusco just ask to go to the Plaza de Armes and go from there.

A gorgeous sunset to end a lovely journey.

A gorgeous sunset to end a lovely journey.

 

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in General Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puerto Maldonado to Cusco: The Journey

  1. Jean says:

    Beautiful pictures!

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

