I have returned (from the jungle)

Me and a bicolor frog that Ian and I found on a nightwalk. So cool!

Me and a bicolor frog that Ian and I found on a nightwalk. So cool!

 

After a month in the Peruvian amazon I have returned to civilization. I survived! I didn’t mutilate myself with a machete, get killed by caimen, bitten by a Bushmaster, trolled by a treefall, mashed by malaria, yucked by yellow fever, or any other sorts of jungle-y alliterative things.

I did, however, have an absolutely amazing time! This might have been the most amazing thing I have done in my entire life rivaling studying abroad in Fiji. I have learned and seen so much since I entered the jungle and had so many amazing experiences. I also had the privilege of experiencing a month without internet (and all the emails, facebook, and info that go with it), cars, shopping, and all sorts of normal activities.

Instead, I followed around monkeys, hiked through the jungle at night and day exploring new trails, kayaked and catamaraned around a wonderful lake, and so much more. I loved it to the core! Hopefully I will do more posts with more pictures soon, but for now I have just arrived in Cusco and after a few mishaps am going to spend the day with a random australian photographer while waiting for my credit card to get unlocked. When I get home (and likely during the hours in the airport before) I will start typing up some of my experiences so hopefully I can share what a wonderful place it is and how wonderful working with Fauna Forever was.

 

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in General Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I have returned (from the jungle)

  1. Jenny K says:

    It’s good to hear from you! Everyone in the family has been worried about you and anxiously awaiting to hear you made it out of the jungle alive. So glad you had a good time.

  2. Rachel says:

    Three things: (1) So glad that none of those alliterations took you out and you’re safe! (2) Credit card troubles suck, but it sounds like you’re handling it well. (3) I cannot wait to see all of your pictures and hear all of your stories! (4, so I lied, sue me). I miss you. Can’t wait to see you again 🙂

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

