Next Time New Zealand

Trying to travel and do most of what you want in 15 days in New Zealand is a bit like trying to walk a cat on a leash when it has never walked on one before. For most cats, or people, it is impossible. At least that is my opinion.

Even though I extended my trip by a few days there were still many things I wanted to do. Especially since I did not rent a car while I was there I wasn’t able to so everything simply because of transport time. To give you some ideas it takes about 9 hours to get from Auckland to Wellington and then maybe 11 hours from Picton to Invercargill. Not bad compared to the states but still that’s a pretty long way.

Anyways here are some things I want to do next time:
-See Milford sound maybe doing an overnight cruise or kayaking
-See the glaciers
-Whale watch in Kaikoura
-Kayak in Abel Tasman
-See glow worms somewhere
-Hike in some of the parks in the West Coast of the South Island
-Skydive in Queenstown or Abel Tasman
-Horse Trek in Queenstown and on Farewell Spit
-Go back to Stewart Island and do more hiking/bird-watching
-Dive at Poor Knights
-See a Tuatara
-And so much more

Overall I just love the country. I would love to get a work visa and spend 6 months or a year there. There are lots of cool hostels that will give free accommodation for a few hours of work and then there’s also working on farms and maybe I could get a job with a horse trek place. That would be super awesome.

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Preparation. Bookmark the permalink.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

