Wellington and Picton

December 7
I’m a little behind on writing my blogs, but that just means I’ll go in a little less detail which means shorter posts for you.

Wellington was pretty good. I stayed at Nomads Hostel which is very big and modern. It was really nice even though I’m don’t normally like big hostels as much. You actually got a small free meal each night at the bar next door which was cool. The night I was there it was just a slice of pizza and a small salad so not bad.

Most of that first night was just spent researching for what to do for the trip ahead. I had really wanted to do the West Coast of the South Island and see the glaciers, but slowly realized that was going to be next to impossible if I wanted to meet up with Ian and Eric in Christchurch.

After that I couldn’t decide whether or not to go to Abel Tasman park or not. It looked like it was lots of beaches so since I was in Fiji I kind of want something different. Then I found a $1 bus fare to Kaikoura and took that as a sign it was meant to be.

After so much research I decided to go out to the clubs around 11 or so. Since it was a Wednesday night it was kind of empty though still some people out. Eventually with the help of some locals we found a great place with dancing.

In my dorm room there was a guy named Sid who is from Auckland. Wednesday morning he was nice enough to show me around Wellington. First he looked up this amazing local coffee place. I wish i could remember its name because it was the best coffee i have ever had. Then we rode this cute cable car up to the Botanical Gardens which were quite pretty and had great views of the city. Finally we went to Te Papa, the local museum that is free and really really good.

After than I quickly grabbed lunch and ran to catch the shuttle from the train station to the interisland ferry. On the ferry and waiting for it I met two people from France both a man and a woman. They were really fun and we ended up staying at the same hostel together

Sequoia Lodge was the hostel we stayed at and it was awesome! So friendly and homey which is one thing I love about smaller hostels. They had free wifi which is almost unheard of in New Zealand plus free chocolate pudding and ice cream in the evenings. Also free tea and coffee and sugar. And the hostel workers are super nice as are the dorms. Loved it.

We ended up getting in and pretty much just hanging out. Went to the store and the the frenchies and I made ratatatouille. Very yummy. Then we ended up playing a French game Times Up which was super fun. This is how it works:
1. Everyone takes 5-7 pieces of paper and writes the name of a famous person.
2. Then partners are picked.
3. Mix up the papers thoroughly.
4. Then are three rounds. First round the partner can say anything to get the other person to guess the word. Second round you get one word to get your partner to guess. Third round you have to mime.
5. Each round you get 30 seconds to guess. And keep going through the cards til time is up and count at the end of the round.

Very fun!

The next day I woke up and had a lovely little breakfast in the hostel and ended up meeting a german guy who would be driving to Kaikoura later in the day. Though I already had the bus worked out I figured it would be nice to drive ad so asked if I could tag along and he said yes. Not too much later we were on our way to Kaikoura.

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Preparation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

