USP International Association Volunteer Day: 1 September 2012

The international students here have an association just for them.  And being the person I am I had to “run” (volunteer) for an office: Service Chair (it has some other funny name here).  Little did I know that my job would be pretty small as the International Office actually organizes most of the day because they already have experience with it.

I love puppy kisses!

With the International Office providing buses the group of us first split up.  One group (including me!) went to the SPCA and washed kennels and dogs and played with the dogs and helped feed them.  It was pretty fun.  I don’t normally venture out to the kennels when I go so I got to play with more dogs.  I also picked a TON of ticks off one dog which was sad (though it wasn’t as bad as one dog I saw here -shudder-).  There were some really cute kittens and puppies that were being boarded as well.  But it was fun.  Another group went to the Children’s Hospitals and the people shredded papers by hand of deceased people.  The final group went to the Orphanage and washed windows and played with the kids.

The kids at the orphanage

After we all volunteered at our respective places we met up at the Orphanage to have lunch.  Before lunch the kids had a little performance for us with singing.  They even sang the baby shark song from girl scout camp!  Who knew camp songs could make it to an orphanage in Fiji?!  It was a little different from the version I know, but still.  It was exciting.  Then we had lunch and just hung out with the kids.  It was a little hard to get them to talk to you.  I tried talking to one, but she wouldn’t talk back :(.  So I decided I would just be really helpful cleaning up and then ended up snuggling with one of the really little ones for a bit.  Overall the day was really fun!

Snuggling

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Weekend Activities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to USP International Association Volunteer Day: 1 September 2012

  1. Jenny K. says:

    Sounds like a great day!

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

