Spring Break Part 1: Port Denarau

Rachel guarding our bags at the bus station while the rest of us shop at the market

While everyone back at home literally just started school, I am already half way through my classes.  This meant a round of mid semester tests.  Which I studied a lot for and actually went quite well I have to say.  The tests here that I’ve taken are somewhat similar although of course it depends on the professor.  For my conservation biology course we had to pick 2 questions out of 6 to answer for short answer plus one out of 4 to write an essay on.  And of course we were expected to have an intro, body, and conclusion for this essay.  For coral reef ecology it was multiple choice, true false, short answer, plus an essay with just diagrams and bullet points.

Right after we arrived we went to check out the beach and pool

But after my tests were all finished I got to have a great night out at the clubs and the next day headed to Port Denarau.  My AMAZING friend Brittany’s parents have a timeshare thing with Wyndam resorts which just so happens to have a resort in Fiji.  And lucky me, Mallory, Rachel, and Mikayla got to come with her.  Port Denarau is the poshest, ritzy, most touristy place in all of Fiji.  You just cross over the bridge to the island and everything is landscaped, well lit, and gorgeous.

Our amazing room with the comfiest bed EVER!

The Wyndam is the nicest place I have EVER stayed and especially in comparison to staying in the dorms at USP and hostels it is just heaven.  Soft beds with TWO down pillows and a comforter.  A shower that gets really hot with pressure behind it and enough room to shave with a full towel that dries you and doesn’t leave little fuzzies behind.  A full kitchen with an oven, blender, hand mixer, toaster, nice pots, knives that can actually cut your food, a washer AND a dryer, a stereo with speakers… the list goes on.  I mean, let’s just say that when you walk in the resort they put a hibiscus flower behind your ear, give you a piece of pineapple, and a cold towel.  It’s not the real Fiji I’m used to, but it sure is nice!

Pretending to propose… can you imagine a beautiful wedding in this chapel?

While being here we haven’t done too much.  Went into Nadi to the market to buy fruits and veggies (though similar priced to Suva market this one was MUCH smaller, definitely made us appreciate Suva Market).  Went to the MH to also buy food and liquor since drinks and food in Denarau are really expensive.  Other than that we’ve laid buy the pool, swam.  Cooked.  Went for a walk and found a beautiful wedding chapel.  We also had to go to the marina and buy our Ferry tickets to the Yasawas for the second half of the break.  With our study permits we got 20% the advertised price for a total of FJ$317.  That’s from Denarau to Coralview, Coralview to Barefoot, and Barefoot to Denarau.  It’s a bit of a monopoly so it’s quite pricey.

Hanging out by the pool/beach

I got really close to losing my wristlet with EVERYTHING in it at the Hard Rock Café.  Of course I did the dumb thing and left it in the bathroom and realized in a bit I left it there.  It had my Fiji phone, US drivers license, USP ID card, $70 FJ, Insurance Cards, Visa Card, Ferry ticket confirmation, and Internet card inside it.  So needless to say I was freaking out and crying.  But the staff there was all super nice.  They were running around looking for it and giving me hugs and being so nice.

Saved in Hard Rock Cafe!

One guy in particular Tehana was extra nice so we got pictures with him.  Finally after I had almost given up hope and was sadly eating my nachos and barely tasting them, three of the staff members came up to me with it.  Life saved!  Someone had found it and turned it in and the manager put it in the safe.  So after that I perked up considerably and was able to eat my delicious nachos at the Hard Rock.  We got pictures and then the even said we could go behind the bar and take pictures there too.  I love Fijian people they are just so amazingly nice.

Beautiful sunset number 1

 

Being with the girls here has been so much fun and such a great bonding time.  I’ve had a great time cooking with them and eating with them and just hanging out.  We made brownies one night and got frosting for them and had ice cream and just went out on the porch and talked.  Before we went to Hard Rock we had the Wyndam cocktail party and drank wine (I mixed mine with the free juice since I’m still not a wine drinker) and did make-up together and had a very fun walk there.  After hard Rock café we had a great night walk on the beach and through a golf course.  It has been a ton of fun and a large part of me never wants to leave.

Another beautiful sunset

Our menu for the week

Breakfasts: Toast, yogurt, cereal, papaya, pineapple, etc

Sunday

  • Lunch: leftovers
  • Dinner: Fettucine

Monday

  • Lunch: leftovers, eggs, veggies, etc.
  • Dinner: Hard Rock Cafe

 

Tuesday

  • lunch: leftovers, eggs, veggies, etc.
  • Dinner: French toast

Wednesday: only breakfast

 

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Weekend Activities and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Break Part 1: Port Denarau

  1. Jenny K. says:

    Looks like the Hard Rock Cafe guy was in heaven! 🙂 I am happy for you that you had such good accommodations and food and that you are having such a great time. You mention your wristlet . . . did you happen to get your package before you left for spring break or was the one that you mentioned a different one than the one I mailed? Love and miss you!

    • mlafollette says:

      Thanks! I haven’t gotten my package yet. The tracking number says it’s still at the sorting facility… which seems wrong. Hopefully it will get here soon though without tracking I’m not sure how long it might take…

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

