The Truly AMAZING Race

As the semester continues I’m finding it harder and harder to do blog posts. I’m starting to have more assignments due, midterm tests are next week, and I’m also getting closer to all my friends and doing more with them.  But I really want to keep blogging if only so that I have a record of everything I have done here to look back upon when I’m done.  Also I’m hoping my blog could be an asset to future University of the South Pacific Exchange Students.  When trying to research what I was getting myself into I found a blog of a girl who had gone here on exchange and it was extremely helpful and comforting.

But enough about blogging, onto the stories.

This is what our dorms look like from the outside. Pretty gloomy day, but it happens. This is looking from the 3rd floor to the boys dorms.

Two Saturdays ago, 18th August, we had an activity organize for our block in the dorms.  10th hall is organized into 6 blocks, 3 boys and 3 girls.  Each block is physically separated from one another and only connected by an outdoor staircase.  They each have 24 girls (8 on each floor) living within them.  In each block is an RA (Residential Assistant/Advisor).  This RA has to put on a hall activity sometime during the semester.  Unlike the SAs at home who are taxed with many different projects and putting on a variety of events this hall activity seems to be the main focus of the RA.  This means that it can be awesome, really awesome!  Two of the blocks went to a resort for the weekend.  Ours had THE AMAZING RACE!

It was a really big deal.  A way bigger deal than any sort of hall activity back home.  Our RA Pari got sponsors for the event so that the winners got a $100 cash prize, 2nd and 3rd got Mcdonalds vouchers and tickets to a peace concert, and winners of the costume contest got bags of clothes. Plus everyone got a hamper (which is not for laundry or even a laundry hamper, but actually a bag full of goodies) and paid only $5 for a huge breakfast, lunch, and dessert!  The organization and work put into this event was simply amazing.  I was extremely impressed with how professional and simply legit it was for an event for only 24 girls.

Yeah my friends are awesome at costumes!

We each got a partner for the race and I got Ashley who from the beginning, before I even got to Fiji, was a HUGE help to me just in planning what to bring and everything.  So I knew it was going to be a great team.  True to the Fijian way we decided on our costume the morning of the race: Women in Black.  Simple, classy, and comfortable!  Sadly it wasn’t enough to beat my two friends Sarah and Brittany who actually had their costumes made to be Pari’s Angels (after Charlie’s Angels).

Running everywhere!

We rocked the Race and totally would have won, but we made a mistake in the beginning and had to backtrack to get a signature that we completed the task.  Here were the tasks that I can remember:

  1. match the capitols of various countries in the pacific
  2. Sack “race”
  3. Dancing for 1 minute in public
  4. ROADBLOCK 1: Eat an apple in less than 3 minutes (and then have to run with it… I was lucky that Ashley did this one)
  5. Board the bus at one station and ride to another
  6. Count all the stairs in the ICT building
  7. Find a book in the library with the word gender in it and take a picture
  8. ROADBLOCK 2: Swim 2 laps in the pool (I did this one being the lifeguard, and MAN was I tired by this point.  At first I was totally racing, but it was hard for me to breath so I ended up doing backstroke for most of it)

1st, 2nd, and 3rd place

And of course the entire thing was a race around USP’s campus (which is fairly large, larger than Truman and hilly as well).  I was so entire hot and sweaty by the end of it.  But Ashley and I came in 2nd totally coming back from that first mistake!  The whole day was so much fun and I really enjoyed it.  Props to Pari and the sponsors and workers for the day.

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in The Middle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Truly AMAZING Race

  1. Jean LaFollette says:

    Sounds like you got a workout that day!

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

