It’s NOT always sunny in Fiji

Sometimes things can be very frustrating abroad.

  1. For example, this weekend I forgot my pin number and am down to all of 9 dollars in cash.  I call my bank and they want me to “drop in” to my local branch to pick it up.  Sorry man, but I’m in Fiji right now, so that’s not really possible. (I will work this out between the bank, me, and my parents and luckily my awesome friends are loaning me money til then… maybe I’ll just have a premonition of the pin though)
  2. The internet will randomly stop working here and only works in certain places (not a completely wi-fi covered campus).  Even in my room it stopped working, I’ve been trying to get it to work for the last half hour and it’s currently hopeless.
  3. The internet also is not free, but by data here.  Which would be okay except how it counts data seems a bit sporadic charging people $40 for a day of just checking internet and facebook.
  4. I can’t access my home university course list or accounts from over here.  This makes it really difficult to remember to drop that art course that a friend had wanted me to hold for them last semester.  It also makes it difficult to understand why my stipend is over $1000 less than what I was told it would be and why my scholarships don’t seem to cover things like they used to.
  5. Very little seems to be expedited or efficient.  To get a package you have to go all the way into town to collect it from customs.  If you lock yourself out you have to walk all the way to another office back to your dorm and back to the office; there’s no one on the dorm premises with a master key.

It’s studying abroad, not every minute is going to be happy even if you’re in Fiji no matter what people try to tell you.  Sometimes I really miss home, miss my friends, my family, my dog, and even just the food.  I worry that when I get back things will be different.  Well, I know they’ll be different, but my concern is I won’t like how different they are.

But despite this, it’s worth it.  Most of the time I just love my life.  I love the people here, the culture, the things to do.  It’s worth the little difficulties along the way.

((Oh and I promise a full post with fun and pictures soon, things have just been a bit crazy and anytime spent with my computer has been vainly attempting to do homework.))

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in General Posts, The Middle. Bookmark the permalink.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

