Fiji Time

I sit writing this on my iPod while waiting for my tuvalu dance practice. I have been sitting here for almost an hour. It is 7:52 and they told me it started at 7. This is just one of many examples of Fiji or island time. Things simply do not start on time. Even lecturers especially I’d they are Fijian may be late for their own lecture. It drives me a little crazy. Particularly since it’s difficult to distinguish which events you should be on time for and which you can be late to.

The beach during our weekend in Nadi.

It is a different way of life in which deadlines and schedules are not nearly as important as relationships and other priorities. Even if someone tells you they will be somewhere at a certain time they may be hours late or may not show up at all. It does allow for a more relaxed schedule but definitely severely decreases my efficiency. Meetings that should take an hour suddenly take three. Next time I will definitely not come until at least 8 if not 8:30. It is 8:02 and only me and three other girls of at least 20 have shown up. We didn’t start practicing til about 8:15.

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Preparation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fiji Time

  1. Jean LaFollette says:

    Looks like you might be able to bring back some nice shells from the beach

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

