Packing for a semester abroad in Fiji, Final copy, full list, (warning: this post is picture heavy!)

I’m done packing!  Though it was pretty hard.

      

Ahhhh!  I’m leaving tomorrow for Fiji!  I can’t believe that it’s already here.  That it truly is here.  I am actually leaving my family, friends, and everything I’ve ever known to go across the ocean to an island for 5 months.  5 months is a pretty long time.  This week has been kind of stressful packing and just getting everything done before I leave.  Today I went to the vet clinic and weighed my bags

  •  Checked bag= 45 lbs total  with 5 lbs of stuff I will use up there (sunscreen, etc.)
  • Carry-on= 13.8 lbs (this has medication, electronics, 1 change of clothes and toiletries)
  • “Personal item” or my backpack with laptop inside= 10.3 lbs
So that’s not too shabby.  My checked bag is basically exactly where I want it to be at, could be a little lighter, but that’s okay.  My carry-on might be a little heavier than I want (internationally can carry 15 lbs and domestic 11) but a lot of it is medications and things I will use up there.   My backpack is a lot heavier than I would like it to be.  It does have a 3.5 lb laptop in it also a water bottle some snacks and a book.  So that’s fine… as long as they don’t make me combine it with my carry-on.  Though I am going to try to figure out what I can move to my checked bag instead.  I may trade my nice bookbag for a lighter weight one, but I like all the pockets and straps in my nice one.
     
So here’s the final packing list with just about everything on it plus lots of pictures!  (my friend Elise complained there wasn’t enough pictures… so here you go Elise!)

Bottoms

  • 2 skinny jeans (light and dark wash)
  • 1 bootcut light wash jeans
  • 1 yoga pants*
  • 1 pair khaki pants
  • 3 shorts (2 jean + 1 khaki)
  • 1 pair black leggings + 1 pair spanks
  • 2 pair bermuda jean shorts
  •  3 capris (khaki, black, jeans)
  • 1 black athletic shorts (for hiking and sleeping)
  • 3 1 skirt (flower, pockets, brown)

Tops

  • 12  8 sleeveless tops (2 dressy, 2 casual, etc.)
  • 8 5 casual shirts
  • 1 Scrub top for shadowing
  • 1 sporty workout shirt (why not just wear my other shirts)

Jackets

  • 2 rain jackets (1 cute/long + 1 foldable poncho)
  • 1 comfy zip up jacket
  • 1 warmer rain resistant jacket (truman e-team)
  • 2 cardigans (black/purple)
  • 1 sweatshirt (sigma alpha letters?)
Other Clothes
  • Underwear (all that I own because this determines how often I wash)
  • 5 Bras: nude+ black t-shirt bras, nude racer-back, sports, strapless
  • 6 pair of socks
  • 2 Bikinis + lifeguard (supportive) suit?
  • Nightgown PJs, long PJ pants, PJ shirt,
  • Laundry bag
  • 2 Camisoles: red and blue
  • 4 dresses (3 casual + 1 dressier)
Shoes
  • Chaco sandals
  • 1 Basic Flip flops
  • Tennis shoes for shadowing
  • Gladiator sandals
  • Sperry sandals (in case my feet get cold, not pictured)
Accessories
  • Normal belt, yellow belt, thick black belt
  • Jewelry
  • 2 summery scarves + 1 pashima scarf
  • Headbands
  • Sturdy umbrella
  • Watch
  • Sunglasses + case
Electronics
  • Mini laptop + charger
  • Ipod touch + charger + earbuds
  • Camera + battery charger + case + extra memory
  • USB charger
  • Fiji adapter + travel power strip
  • External webcam (the built in netbook one is bad)
  • Jumpdrive
Toiletires
  • Solid shampoo + solid conditioner + bar soap
  • Solid face soap* (not pictured)
  • Day Moisturizer with spf + Night moisturizer + travel sizes*
  • Toothbrush* (not pictured)+ Travel toothpaste* + floss
  • Extra contacts* + 1 brand new solution + travel size*
  • Menstrual cup*
  • Small container of laundry detergent?
  • 3 Deodorants* (I really don’t want to make people suffer if I run out 😛  )
For Appearance Sake
  • Comb
  • Rubber bands, bobby pins, clips
  • Razor with extra heads
  • Nail clippers*
  • Tweezers*
  • Chap stick* and scented lotion?
  • Make-up*
  • Extra body mousse (hair-styling without heat)
  • Tiny towel that I will leave there
  • Make-up remover*

Medicine**

  • Aspirin to prevent blood clots on the airline ride
  • Ibprofen for headaches and body aches
  • Off-brand Zyrtec for allergies
  • Off-brand Imodium and Pepto Bismol for stomach upsets
  • Decongestant + mucus reliever for colds
  • Cough syrup with codeine
  • Allergy eye drops
  • Face and body suncreen
  • Pump insect repellant
  • Moleskin for blisters
  • Bandaids + polysporin
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Acutane

Miscellaneous

  • Mini flashlight
  • Journal?
  • Vacuum seal bags
  • Paperwork: Copy of passport, flight itinerary, credit cards, usp offer letter
  • Domestic cell phone?  I will only be able to use it 2 days of my trip, not worth it, my parents can always look online to find if my flight is on time
  • Purse*
  • Water bottle* (emptied for security)
  • Book for plane ride*
  • Snacks for plane ride*: fudge babies, granola bars, dried fruit,
  • Folders
  • Reeses* for friend Ashley abroad
  • Fiji Phrases book
  • Pen, pencil, eraser, lead
  • Scissors
  • Reusable Totes (not only will they be handy abroad but also help me organize my suitcase)
  • A few ziplock bags (I know they were scarce in france)
About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Preparation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

