The Practicalities

Believe it or not, there is some work I have to do before I get to Fiji other than just packing.  Here’s a short list of things to do before you study abroad:

1. Ensure passport is valid for 6 months after I leave

2. Make 2 photocopies of everything important: passport, airplane itinerary, id cards, credit card, debit cards, etc.

-Take one with me and leave one at home

3. Set up power of attorney

– So that in case of emergency of an emergency my mother can make decisions for me

-My awesome Aunt Jenny the lawyer will help me set this up.

4. Register at the US embassy in your country

In Fiji the US embassy in in Suva: 158 Princes Road, Suva, Fiji
Telephone: (679) 331-4466
Emergency after-hours telephone: (679) 772-8049
Facsimile: (679) 330-2267

5. Establish how to pay bills while abroad (I’m lucky and don’t have any)

6. Make sure your family knows of your travel arrangement and an emergency contact in your host country

7. Make sure that someone has the ability to make deposits into your account in case you run out of money!  US bank just requires the person to have your account number.

8. Look up travel alerts related to your country

Specific to Fiji

 

FIJI FACTS: Government, Travel, and Safety

Fiji has been under military rule since 2006, however most things I’ve read have said that travel is  generally safe.  Since the country’s biggest source of income in tourism the people certainly don’t want to harm that.  The Department of State US generally recommends common sense: “remain cautious and alert in public places and near military activities in the greater Suva area. You should avoid demonstrations and large crowds, remembering that even peaceful demonstrations can turn violent unexpectedly”

That makes sense to me.  I’ll be a minority there so I will have to always be conscious of the fact that I will stick out as an outsider and traveler.

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Preparation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

