The Tablet, Netbook, Laptop Delimma

Big decisions are hard for me. Even medium and small decision can be.  So when it came to deciding between taking my normal laptop (a Study Dell with a 15 inch screen), buying a tablet with a keyboard (and then whether to get an apple or android), or getting a netbook it took me some time to decide.

First I found out that Android tablets had difficulty connecting to the wifi at USP.  An IT person said most tablets had difficulty connecting to the wi-fi —> TABLET OUT

Now to the netbooks.  I’ve just started researching them.  Not as cool, sleek, or trendy as a tablet, but seems to do more what I want.  Word processing, including excel, and storage without internet access.  Also keyboard included.

I’ve got 3 netbooks in mind:

  • Sony Vaio ($450) 
  • Acer Aspire ($315) 
  • Asus Eee PC ($???) 

Which one to get?  It will take me a bit to decide, but hopefully I decide soon.  I could always still take my laptop.  But when I’m going to be traveling to Fiji and then have a month to travel after that I would like something more.  Also I have been wanting something light to take to class with me as well.

About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Preparation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tablet, Netbook, Laptop Delimma

  1. Aunt Sharon says:

    Meg – I sent all this to Ryan and he is looking into options. I’ll let you know his thoughts ASAP.

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

