I haven’t left yet

First post of my study abroad blog here I go!  In two and a half weeks I leave for 5 months to study at the University of the South Pacific in Suva, Fiji.  I am excited and nervous!  I’m starting this blog now as to track my adventure from preparation to reflection.

First a few facts about the Fiji Islands.

They are located in the Pacific Ocean northeast of Australia and New Zealand.

 

  • Population: 850,000 (about the size of St. Loui)
  • Languages: English, Fijian, Fiji Hindi
  • Area: 7,000 square miles or 18,000 kilometers squared
  • Currency: Fijian Dollar (which currently is about 1.82 FJ per 1 American dollar –> http://www.xe.com/currencycharts/?from=USD&to=FJD&view=1M)

I’ll post more facts later.  Now it is way past my bedtime here and there is lots left to do:

  • Decide what courses to take while in Fiji
  • Pack!!!
  • Take money out of my big savings account?
  • Buy a tablet or netbook?
  • Get finances in order
  • Haircut and other appointments
  • Buy a 3-prong adapter
  • More!
About Meg LaFollette

I studied abroad in Fiji for 5 months in 2012 and absolutely fell in love with traveling! I went to New Zealand right after and then Peru this summer. When not traveling (and sometimes during) I love healthy, environmentally conscious living. Animals, biology, horses, and behavior are other passions of mine.
This entry was posted in Preparation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I haven’t left yet

  1. Rachel says:

    Ahhh, I can’t believe how fast it’s coming up! Let me know if you need any help packing or finding anything. You’re going to have such a great time, I can’t wait to see the picture 🙂 🙂 🙂

Got any questions, comments, concerns, hopes, dreams, or aspirations?

